Thursday, November 27, 2014

4) Virtue #1 – Love

What is Love?

There are many kinds of love. Love can be grouped into two main categories:

·  Emotional Love manifests through our emotions and liking a person, but emotions change and so does the love manifesting through it. All people experience emotional love, but this kind of love won’t set us free and won’t ignite the other virtues in our heart and soul.

Emotional Love can be divided into three kinds of love:

i)      Affection - Is fondness through familiarity (a brotherly love), especially between family members or people who have otherwise found themselves together by chance.

ii)     Philia  - Is the love between friends. Friendship is the strong bond existing between people who share common interest or activity.

iii)    Eros – Is romantic love -  'being in love' or 'loving' someone and usually have a sexual connotation

·   Agape (Spiritual Love) is the love that brings forth caring regardless of the circumstance. Agape is a spirit-led unconditional love, irrespective if we like a person or not. It is not a feeling, it's a motivation for action that we are free to choose or reject. Agape is a sacrificial love that voluntarily suffers inconvenience, discomfort, and even death for the benefit of another without expecting anything in return.

When you reach this purest form of love, you’ll be set free from all earthly self-gratification and it will enable you to live the life you were meant to live.

Agape (Spiritual Love) gives birth to all other virtues. When your heart and spirit is filled with love, all other virtues will manifest themselves, for all goodness, kindness and compassion towards mankind is a direct result of Agape. 

No comments:

Post a Comment